Leadership - Home


Leadership - Header


The ITI's Board of Directors and four Committees are made up of Fellows from various disciplines and countries.

The Fellows who sit on the Board and the four Committees volunteer their time and expertise towards defining and achieving the goals of the ITI. As the ITI's industry partner, Straumann has up to two seats on the Board and each of the Committees.

These five bodies answer to the General Assembly that comprises all ITI Fellows and meets once a year for the ITI Annual General Meeting.

Nested Applications

Leadership - Organigram

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The ITI Board of Directors oversees the mid- and long term goals and provides the strategic direction for the organization. It also oversees the ITI's finances and allocates funds to the Committees.

Charlotte Stilwell, London, United Kingdom President
Stephen Chen, Balwyn, Melbourne, Australia Past President
Tara Aghaloo, Los Angeles, USA Member at large
Bilal Al-Nawas, Mainz, Germany Chair, ITI Research Committee
Bo Chen, Beijing, China Chair, Leadership Development Committee
Eiji Funakoshi, Fukuoka, Japan Member at large
Nikos Mattheos, Hong Kong, China SAR Member at large
Dean Morton, Indianapolis, USA Chair, ITI Section Management Committee
Daniel Wismeijer, Amsterdam, Netherlands Chair, ITI Education Committee
Gilbert Achermann, Basel, Switzerland  
Guillaume Daniellot, Basel, Switzerland  

Education Committee

Education Committee

Education represents the core of the ITI's mission. The ITI develops, conducts and supports educational activities and projects for professionals in implant dentistry.

Daniel Wismeijer, Amsterdam, Netherlands (Chair)
Vivianne Chappuis, Bern, Switzerland
Anthony Dawson, Deakin, Australia
Tabea Flügge, Berlin, Germany
Chatchai Kunavisarut, Bangkok, Thailand
Alejandro Lanis, Santiago, Chile
William Martin, Gainesville, USA
Nikos Mattheos, Hong Kong, China SAR
Irena Sailer, Geneva, Switzerland
Daniela Felipucci, Basel, Switzerland

Research Committee

Research Committee

With an allocation of USD 2 million annually, the ITI finances research projects in implant dentistry and related fields. The Committee meets twice a year to review and decide on grant applications.

Bilal Al-Nawas, Mainz, Germany (Chair)
Tara Aghaloo, Los Angeles, USA
Juan Blanco Carrión, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Urs Brägger, Bern, Switzerland
Reinhard Gruber, Vienna, Austria
Ronald Jung, Zurich, Switzerland
Johannes Kleinheinz, Munster, Germany
Martin Schimmel, Bern, Switzerland
Michel Mallaun, Basel, Switzerland
Benjamin Pippenger, Basel, Switzerland

Leadership Development Committee

Leadership Development Committee

The ITI fosters leadership by supporting clinicians in furthering their training in implant dentistry and related fields through its one-year Scholarship program.

Bo Chen, Beijing, China (Chair)
Gary Finelle, Paris, France
Georges Gebran, Beirut, Lebanon
Mario Roccuzzo, Turin, Italy
Martina Stefanini, Bologna, Italy
Holger Haderer, Basel, Switzerland

Section Management Committee

Section Management Committee

The Section Management Committee serves the interests and needs of the 31 national and regional ITI Sections by facilitating the implementation of the organization's overarching strategy.

Dean Morton, Indianapolis, USA (Chair)
Luca Cordaro, Rome, Italy
Waldemar Polido, Indianapolis, USA
Wolfgang Becker, Freiburg, Germany


ITI Presidents

The ITI President guides the strategic development of the organization and is elected for a four-year term of office by the General Assembly of Fellows.

  • Charlotte Stilwell

    London, UK

    Since 2021

  • Stephen Chen

    Melbourne, Australia

    2017 - 2021

  • David Cochran

    San Antonio, USA

    2013 - 2017

  • Daniel Buser

    Bern, Switzerland

    2009 - 2013

  • Dieter Weingart

    Stuttgart, Germany

    2005 - 2009

  • Thomas D. Taylor

    Farmington CT, USA


  • Niklaus P. Lang

    Bern, Switzerland


  • Wilfried Schilli

    Freiburg, Germany


  • André Schroeder

    Bern, Switzerland